AMPP’s Honoree Night Celebrates Awards Recipients

In 2022, the Association for Materials Protection and Performance (AMPP) launched a new annual awards program consisting of 12 categories for industry recognition. For2023, winners of these new awards were honored at a celebration on Wednesday night at the Hyatt Regency.

The annual awards program is designed to recognize the achievements of individuals and companies whose contributions are changing the industry, society, and the world today. The program was designed by AMPP’S Award Program Committee comprising 15 of the association’s members from seven countries and representing a diverse range of roles within the industry.

The 2023 winners were selected based on a variety of factors. Nominations were solicited from AMPP’s 30,000+ members and the public.

The full slate of awards includes 12 categories recognizing outstanding accomplishments in areas such as service, leadership, application of or advancement of applied technology, and more. The following is a list of the awards and the 2023 recipients.

Russell Brannon & John Keane Signature Award

Debra Boisvert


Joyce Wright Industry Impact Award

Dawn Eden


Willis Whitney Technical Achievement Award

Vilupanur A. Ravi


Oliver Moghissi Asset Integrity Management Award

Samir Degan


Educator Award in Honor of Herbert Uhlig

Jenifer Locke


Educator Award in Honor of Richard Drisko

David A. Hunter


Publications Award: CORROSION

Robert E. Melchers

“Long-Term Immersion Corrosion of Irons and Steel in Seawaters with Calcareous Deposition,” Corrosion 77,5 (2021): pp. 526-539


Publications Award: Materials Performance

Ahmad Raza Khan Rana

Zoheir Farhat

“Graphene—An Upgrade for Fragile Ni-P Coatings,” MP 60, 1 (2021): pp. 34-38


Fellow Honor

Jeffrey L. Didas

Richard Eckert

Fritz Friedersdorf

Feng Gui

Hervé Marchebois

Conchita Mendez

Supratik Roychowdhury

Qiwei Wang


Early Career Excellence Award

Brendy Rincon Troconis

Ajay Krishnan M


Elaine Bowman Distinguished Service Award

Brooke Divan

Muhsen A.M. Elhaddad

Amer Jarragh

Manoj Mishra

Roberto Morana

Stephen Ngai

Robin Douglas Tems

Daniel Wagner


Oladis Troconis de Rincon Field Applied Technology Award

Sten Axelsen

Pedro Castro Borges

Y. Frank Chen

Sergei A. Shipilov

Andrés Antonio Torres-Acosta


Distinguished Organization Award

Enbridge—Liquids Pipelines




Community Service Award

Recipient: Riverfront Park Red Wagon| Location: Spokane, WA, USA

Structure Owner: City of Spokane Park and Recreation Department

Contractor/applicator: Northwest Sandblast and Paint

Coating material supplier: Sherwin Williams

Local artist-original creator: Ken Spiering


Excellence in Coating Craftsmanship in Honor of E. Crone Knoy and Charles Munger

Recipient: USNS William Mclean (T-AKE 12) | Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Structure owner: Military Sealift Command

Contractor: Alabama Shipyards, LLC

Applicator: US Coatings

Coating material supplier: PPG Protective & Marine Coatings


Excellence in Management of a Complex Materials Protection in Honor of George Campbell

Recipient: USS John C. Stennis CVN-74 Aircraft Carrier Refueling & Complex Overhaul

Structure owner: US Navy

Contractor/Applicator: Mid-Atlantic Coatings, Inc.

Coating material supplier: The Sherwin-Williams Company

Architect/engineer/consultant: HII-Newport News Shipyard

Key individuals/companies: V.O. Baker Company, WIWALLC,BARTON International


Excellence in Technical Support of Materials Protection Systems

Recipient: Milky Way Digester | Location: Maricopa, AZ, USA

Structure owner: Avolta

Contractor/applicator: Barrier Insulation

Coating material supplier: Sherwin Williams Protective & Marine


Outstanding Achievement in Coatings Work in a Fixed Shop in Honor of Eric Kline

Recipient: Harry Nice New Middleton Bridge Project | Location:  Newburg, MD, USA

Structure owner:  Maryland Transportation Authority

Contractor/applicator: High Steel Structures

Coating material supplier: Carboline Global

Architect/engineer/consultant: SCS, Inc.

VP technical resources: High Steel

Field contractor: Titan Industrial Services

Senior director of communications and marketing: MDTA


Outstanding Engineering in the Area of Materials Protection or Remediation

Recipient: Robotic Surface Preparation of Tank 552 at BPX Black Hawk Facility | Location: Texas, USA

Structure owner: BPX

Contractor/applicator: Innovative Surface Prep (ISP)

Architect/engineer/consultant: BP

Senior corrosion engineer: BP

Lead integrity engineer: BPX

Corrosion engineer: BP


Recognition of Excellence in Aesthetic Merit in a Coatings in Honor of William Johnson

Recipient: Glass City River Wall Mural | Location: Toledo, OH, USA    

Coatings consultant: Tnemec Company

Project manager: Glass City River Wall

Operations manager: Urban Sight, Inc.

Coatings consultant: Redox Coating Consultants 

For more details about the AMPP Awards (recipients, nomination deadline, guidelines, and requirements)visit

More news from the show

Robotics Offer Numerous Advantages in CUI Inspections

Robotic solutions can provide an economical way to detect corrosion under insulation in projects, as explained in Tuesday’s AMPP 2023 presentation by Chase David of Gecko Robotics.

Read more
AMPP Celebrates Next Generation in Scholarship Awards, EMERGing Leaders Bash

Tuesday night’s Scholarship Awards Ceremony acknowledged AMPP’s 2023 scholarship and award recipients, while the ensuing EMERGing Leaders Bash was a celebration for all.

Read more
Hall of Fame QB Terry Bradshaw to Deliver AMPP’s Keynote

Hall of Fame quarterback Terry Bradshaw will deliver the keynote address at the 2023 AMPP Annual Conference on Monday afternoon.

Read more