With Scholarship Awards, EMERGing Leaders Bash Celebrates Future

AMPP’s 2024 Scholarship Awards Ceremony, held as part of Tuesday’s EMERGing Leaders Bash, recognized this year’s student scholarship and award recipients. Then, the evening of celebration at Republic NOLA transitioned to a live concert with a dance floor.

This year’s winners are as follows:

Rising Leaders Award 

  • Lun Chan, University of Virginia

AMPP’s Diversity and Inclusion Grant 

  • Adetunji Makinde, Nigeria
  • Elizabeth Bradshaw, United States
  • Pooi Ying Choong, Malaysia
  • Roman Rodriguez Flores, United States
  • Seyiwa Kope, Canada


AMPP Academic Scholarship

  • Montana Weidman, Alfred University
  • Ashley Chow, University of Akron
  • Tanner Laughorn, University of Akron


Graduate Student Book Awards

  • Karan Chugh, Institute of Chemical Technology
  • Lun Chan, University of Virginia
  • Neda Norooziasl, Ohio University 
  • Yi He, Ohio University


AMPP Central Florida Chapter Scholarship

  • Trevor Evetts, University of Florida
  • Prakirti Singh, Universityof South Florida 
  • Stanley Agbakansi, University of South Florida


Appalachian Underground Corrosion Short Course Scholarships 

  • Hunter Hardway, West Virginia University


Sherwin Williams Protective & Marine Coatings Academic Scholarship

  • Hunter Hardway, West Virginia University

Gordon Rankin Corrosion Engineering Scholarship

  • John Metcalf, University of Akron
  • Lucy Zeng, University of Pennsylvania
  • Zoe Rouzaud, Cal Poly, Pomona


Melvin J. Schiff Fellowship Fund

  • Mark Labib, University of Akron


Past Presidents and Chairs Community Scholarship

  • Hunter Hardway, West Virginia University
  • Jake Hughes, University of Akron


Oliver Moghissi Memorial Scholarship

  • Lindsey Rodriguez, Cal Poly, Pomona
  • Justin Caasi, Cal Poly, Pomona


PPG Protective and Marine Coatings Academic Scholarship

  • Ignatius Asamoah, University of Ghana
  • Januar Putra, Universitas Sultan Ageng Tirtayasa 
  • Prastuti Upadhyay, Drexel University
  • Mark Labib, University of Akron
  • Xikai Wang, University of Virginia


Williams Companies Academic Scholarship

  • Jake Hughes, University of Akron


MTI-Robert Sinko Memorial Scholarship 

  • Iandro Mendez, Nothern Alberta Institute of Technology


MTI-Bert Krisher Memorial Scholarship 

  • Abigail Murray, University of Akron


AMPP Great Lakes Chapter Scholarship

  • Tanner Laughorn, University of Akron
  • Mark Labib, University of Akron


AMPP So Cal Chapter Scholarship 

  • Justin Caasi, Cal Poly Pomona 


Theodore D. Harrington Scholarship

  • Lindsey Rodriguez, Cal Poly Pomona 


AMPP Houston Chapter Scholarships

  • Helen Ding, University of Houston
  • Erasmia Poulassichidis, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Alvaro Camacho, Texas A&M University
  • Nicholas Smith, Sam  Houston State University
  • Francisco Martinez, Lone Star College
  • Bennette Hernandez, Kansas State University
  • Lucy Zeng, University of Pennsylvania
  • Cierra Taylor, Sam Houston State University


AMPP EMERG India Scholarship 

  • Anu Verma, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur 
  • Karan Chugh, Institute of Chemical Technology
  • Pragyandipta Mishra, Indian Institute Of Technology, Madras 
  • Ramay Patra, ARCI Hyderabad and NIT Warangal 
  • Rasmi Ranjan Tripathy, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay


American Innovations Corrosion Scholarship

  • Adelyn Jones, Tulsa Community College
  • Aneeq Arif, University of Houston


AMPP Four Corners Chapter 

  • Anastacia Armijo, Western New Mexico University 


Hans Schmoldt Scholarship in Cathodic Protection 

  • Evan Wiley, University of Akron


AMPP Great Lakes Chapter Scholarship 

  • Alexander Baxter, Michigan Technological University
  • Ben Harrison, Bay City Western High School, headed to Michigan Technological University


AMPP Philadelphia Chapter Liberty Bell Academic Scholarship 

  • Prastuti Upadhyay, Drexel University


AMPP Intermountain Section Scholarship 

  • Garrett Smith, North Idaho College

Congratulations go out to all of our 2024 winners!

More news from the show

AMPP Looks to Establish Targets in Material Sustainability

In Monday’s “Implementing Successful Material Sustainability and Material Stewardship Practices” panel discussion and forum, a range of international experts offered perspective on incorporating sustainable practices within the corrosion control and protective coatings industries.

Read more
Marketing Specialists: Use Video to Emotionally Connect with Customers

The unprecedented growth in video content is necessitating a shift in digital marketing strategies. In turn, this requires prioritizing video to engage effectively with industry customers, according to AMPP’s marketing leaders.

Read more
AMPP, American Water Works Association Host Joint Workshop

In a joint workshop, leaders from AMPP and AWWA explored common approaches and synergies to achieve shared goals for water/wastewater infrastructure asset management and sustainability. This can be done by optimizing life-cycle costs through proper corrosion control.

Read more